Week #22 prompt: (visual – see below)

Welcome to Writer’s Island.

We are pleased to now be in our fifth (5th) year here on the Island, providing writing prompts. New prompt(s) are posted every Saturday at 12:01 AM, U.S. East Coast Time. Consider the prompt in depth, then let inspiration carry you.

When you feel what you’ve written is ready to be read by the other Islanders, just post your link right here in the comments section at the bottom of this post. Please leave whatever expanded comment you wish as a part of your posted link. You can also reply directly to any other comment.

••>OK, for the Week #22 prompt for 2011, we are going to change pace just a bit and focus strictly on a visual prompt — no word this week.

Please consider this fascinating image above from German surrealist, Michael Maier. How does it make you feel? What comes to mind as you look at it? Do you get an overall impression, or does a particular element stand out for you? What title might you give this dreamlike composition? Perhaps let that title be your prompt. Linger on the image, and then let it inspire you to write.

I will reveal the actual title of this work when I post next week’s prompt #23, but this week let’s allow only your reaction to this artwork to spark your muse… or choose to go in your own direction with your piece this week. Just let yourself go with whatever it is that moves you to write.

Relax, respond to the prompt when you’re ready — or just leave a comment to say hi! As always, welcome to the the Island!!! ;)

42 Comments

Filed under Art, Creative Prompt

42 responses to “Week #22 prompt: (visual – see below)

    • writersisland

      Excellent Brenda, really liked “Fly”, a wonderful piece – and I really liked the way you embraced the challenge of this visual prompt… bravo!

      I wanted this week’s prompt to really stir the imaginations of we Islanders, causing us to push our boundaries a bit. I am very excited to see what comes forth this week… ;)

  1. Congrats on five years!

    I wrote a letter

  2. Okay, I’m cheating a bit here. Revised a piece I did last week and posted. Today’s prompt seemed firmly connected to what I had already done.

    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2011/05/25/in-the-beginning/

    Elizabeth

  3. I had another go, and added a slightly less cynical senryu to my original post: http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2011/05/28/surreal/

  4. I have no poem, at least not so far, but I do love the image, Rob…

  5. Wow…this one took a while! I’ve never written to a picture prompt before. But…here’s my attempt:

    http://whenwordsescape.wordpress.com/2011/05/28/loves-serenade/

    Now to read others’ responses to the picture…

    Happy (and safe) Memorial Day Weekend to all those observing the holiday in the States!
    ~Paula

  6. I truly was not a fan of this picture, but here is a sort of poem:

    http://inthecornerofmyeye.blogspot.com/2011/05/bass.html

    • writersisland

      fascinating to see the gamut of reactions to this week’s prompt, and thank you for taking a run at it Mary… ;)

  7. Hi. This is my first shot at this. Mine came out as sort of a story/poem.

    http://gsb3.net/2011/05/28/straight-out-of-the-sea/

    Looking forward to many more prompts to come!

    Gordon

  8. kaykuala

    An Abstract, is certainly challenging. This is a simple response though.

    http://imagery77.blogspot.com/2011/05/all-is-not-lost.html

  9. Great image. I was entering the doldrums and found it very helpful. My response is now in place.

  10. This prompt has been nagging at me all weekend. When I first saw the picture, my first thought was to pass, then write a tongue in cheek on, later a more considered one. Now I realise why the picture nagged at me – it was prodding me to post two poems written a couple of years ago: http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2011/05/29/diminuendo-and-the-martyr-of-solway/

  11. Blogger did not let me publish thephoto. Will do it later.

    My imagination took me in here!

    http://firmlyrooted.blogspot.com/2011/05/jingling-chains.html

  12. I have been away, But now here to stay if you will have me…

    http://poemsbyninotaziz.blogspot.com/2011/05/upon-waves.html

    • writersisland

      We are very pleased to have you on the Island Nino, be it in French or English — la bienvenue, veuillez venir encore… ;)

  13. Tom

    Hi,

    It’s been a while since I was last on the beach, in the mean time I’ve had an Angel to mend.

    http://anewadventureeveryday.blogspot.com/2011/06/gott-weiss-ich-will-kein-engel-sein.html

    Tom

  14. i was so enchanted with the image that i had to trace the source !! Writing first time for writer’s island :

    http://ladynimue.wordpress.com/2011/06/02/1824/

    thank you so much for this prompt !!

  15. Rob: I’m wondering about the title/information on this prompt…will you be posting that here? Or in a separate post? Thanks! ~Paula

  16. The significance of things and events – a belated entry … took me a while to finish this story. And I’m still not entirely happy with it.

Leave a Reply

