PROMPT and WRITER’S LINK: “Earth”

Hello Islanders! Given this is a time of year for many, including myself, to join with family in celebration of the season – this post will serve as the ‘prompt’ for this week and next week. It will also serve as the ‘writer’s link’, so you can post your link here as soon as your piece is complete.

This is December 22nd, the day of Solstice. Owing to the size and atmosphere of our earth, and its remarkable symbiotic relationship with the sun, it is the Winter Solstice in northern hemisphere, and the Summer Solstice in southern hemisphere.

Reflecting on this fascinating and fragile balance, sparked for me, what I feel, is a most appropriate prompt: Earth. I am hoping we will all use this extended 2-week period to write a truly inspired and special piece specifically for this prompt.

Tell us your feelings about this island earth, as it hurtles through space and time. What does it mean to you – how does it resonate with your being? Is it in immanent danger right now? If yes, are we too late to save it? Is all the concern just unjustified paranoia? How mysteriously awesome are the wonders of this planet? Does man have true dominion over earth, or are we quite out of step and balance with Gaia — our mother earth?

What/how has earth endured through the millenniums? Is our earth large or small? Can earth truly be ‘owned’? Is it the only planet to actively support life at this time? What is its significance in light of the plethora of solar systems believed to exist? Maybe you have a poetic vision of earth, of its peoples, of its history, of its future? Maybe a short story will be inspired?

Whatever moves you, please take your time in creating your piece for this prompt. Let’s knock it out of the park!

As soon as you are ready, post your link here to your piece posted on your blog. Remember, post only the link to your work here — not the piece itself… and please make certain your link is accurate.

If you’re new, welcome ashore! More details of ‘How To Be An Islander’ are posted in the sidebar. If you’ve returned, a warm welcome back!

No matter your persuasion, I wish each of you a very happy and safe holiday season — and all the very best for an exceptional new year. The next new prompt will appear here on Saturday, January 5th, 2008, at 12:01 AM U.S. East Coast Time. Until then, have a wonderful time — and may your muse be with you, and your writing inspired! 😉

53 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

53 responses to “PROMPT and WRITER’S LINK: “Earth”

  1. Thanks for this wonderful site! I discovered it an hour ago and here is my first contribution written completely as a result of your prompt. I can’t wait for the next one!

    -Will

    Will Earth Survive? One Humble Opinion

  2. Hello Islanders!

    Would I have the honor to first step the island’s shore? Where is everybody?

    Here’s a soliloquy of a Pulsating Transient Inhabitant of the earth.

    Merry Christmas and a wonderful 2008 ahead.

    I wish you all well.

    ~ Jeques

  3. That it is winter in the northern hemisphere and summer in the southern has nothing to do with the size of the planet. It is because, presently, the southern hemisphere is tilted towards the sun and their days are longer, allowing more of the sun’s energy to be absorbed by the Earth; the northern hemisphere is, naturally, pointed away from the sun at this time of year, with the opposite effect.

    Also, as an aside, as planets go, Earth is on the small end of things.

  4. I just wanted to say that I couldn’t post a comment on Will’s post…but welcome to the island!
    I didn’t participate this week, just a note to say Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
    Thanks for everyone’s support and kindness last week!
    See you next time on the Island!

  5. I have posted a picture of the Earth and a short essay. I wish everyone the best no matter what if any holiday they are celebrating.

    http://hummingbunny.wordpress.com/2007/12/23/our-home/

  6. Here’s mine – http://craftygreenpoet.blogspot.com/2007/12/earth.html

    There may be more, seeing as its a favourite topic of mine!

  7. Chris

    I probably shouldn’t post this right now. I’m not sure its ready or I’m ready, but I’m an impatient bugger so here it goes…

    Untitled (Earth prompt)

  8. Baraka; a poem by Joseph Rye: poet/actor. He is referring a film of the same name “using time-lapse photography in order to capture the great pulse of humanity as it flocks and swarms in daily activity.” Let’s see; who else does the Baraka remind us of????

    😉

    http://ascenderrisesabove.com/wordpress/?p=2704

  9. drburst

    http://reallifenoob.blogspot.com/2007/12/earth-blazer-001.html

    hello all, taking a break from gaming I explore what the crew of a mars mission feels when the earth falls to pollution and war.

  10. Merry Christmas Everyone on Earth!

    b

  11. Here’s mine:

    http://www.justwritingwords.com/2007/12/just-bloom.html

    I may write another piece for next week.

    Merry Christmas!

  12. UL

    I havent been able to contribute yet, but wanted to wish everyone a wonderful holiday sesason, check out mother nature’s gift, a beautiful christmas tree, at my site –

    http://ul-typingaway.blogspot.com/2007/12/beauty-of-kind.html

  13. merry christmas every one… here is my take for week one of “earth”……..

    “my truth”

  14. I too wish A merry Christmas to all of you!

    My post is up:

    mother’s agony

  15. gimmeadream

    http://gimmeadream.blogspot.com/2007/12/earth.html

    Season’s Greetings and Happy Holiday’s! May all your wishes come true for the year to come!

  16. Here is mine:

    Gaia’s Cry

    Not what I’d originally planned to write, but this is what chose to come.

    Happy holidays everyone, and may this new year be one of greater peace and harmony for all.

  17. Pingback: A girl grows up

  18. For the first week of ‘Earth’…

    Bits of Earth

  19. Take a peek, you’re going to adore it …

    http://over-it.blogspot.com/2007/12/writers-island-earth.html

    Here’s to Much Health & Happiness Islanders, for 2008 & Beyond.

  20. Chris

    The link I posted before links back to Writer’s Island. I have no idea what I did wrong unless the Fates are trying to tell me ‘leave it be, this one is not worth the effort.’ But I guess I’m hard headed…

    This one is a “bit of a downer” too, sorry maybe next time

    Untitled (Earth)

  21. I have written so much about lies, thoughts of cheating, being exposed, and the aftermath that is all true for the last 2 weeks. My life was and is in turmoil. But, as usual it created some interesting thoughts for me to try to force into poetry. I could never pick one poem, so please just check out a few and comment if you like. click here for raw feelings

  22. I already left a link, but I see it is gone… Gee…. Hope I haven’t been kicked off the island 😦
    I will try again… and again I will say…. Earth day is april 22 but wishing a happy early earth day and a happy new year!
    http://luluspetals.blogspot.com/2007/12/save-planet-and-your-ass.html

  23. Pingback: Mixed Metaphor

  24. writersisland

    Hi Islanders –

    I have returned to the Island from my holiday visits, so before immersing myself in New Year’s Day parades and football — I glanced around the island to see what’s been happening. I see a very a modest response to this 2-week “Earth” prompt — but some very interesting pieces.

    We are now about to resume regular ‘weekly’ prompts, and hopefully this week’s January 5th prompt will spark a resurgence in writing activity here on the Island! I think I have an interesting prompt for you.

    I trust everyone is enjoying a wonderful holiday season, and that 2008 will be an excellent year for all of us here on Writers Island! 😉

  25. To all of you on Earth that have the time…take a look back.

    b

  26. Not quite the prompt, but it’s what wanted to come out. Although I could stretch the definition and say it alludes to Earth hurtling around through space… 🙂

    Carousel

  27. Hi everyone I know it is late but mine is posted please stop by and check it out as well as other things on my blog. Happy New Year to all!!!

  28. I discovered this site just recently and this is my first attempt written in a sort of stream of consciousness form….

    mother earth

  29. It has been a while since I posted and I am thrilled with the extended period in which to post! Thank you! Here is my submission:

    http://greengrassramblings.blogspot.com/2007/10/what-moves-my-soul.html

  30. Here is my contribution which is actually a work in progress.

    http://watermaid.wordpress.com/2008/01/02/our-earth/

  31. wishing everybody on the island a great 2008. I’m glad i discovered Writer’s and look forward to a year of more writing!!!

  32. This was a tough one for me. I think it works. Thanks!

    http://www.herburban.com/?p=2765

  33. Hi! This is a wonderful place. Read so many beautiful prose, poems all on one topic. Jeques take is particularly beautiful. Here’s mine:

    Mournful Tears

    Regards,
    Romila

  34. here is my second entry for the second week; on sea shells – simple and sweet; Of You by David Jaffin

    http://ascenderrisesabove.com/wordpress/?p=2706

  35. Here’s a plantlike approuch to the topic. It’s been awhile since I last posted here. Happy new year to everyone!

  36. Just got back from a holiday and try as I might couldn’t get my tired limbs to think of anything to put up….cos my brains are on a holiday…but perk up…its new year and i’d like to wish each and every one coming here ” A VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR…LOTS OF FUN AND HAPPINESS RIGHT HERE ON EARTH…”

  37. Thanks to Romila for the mention of my entry. Our entries seem to talk.

    I wish everybody well!

    ~ Jeques

  38. Pingback: MAD KANE

Leave a Reply

