Prompt #20 for 2010: Last Redwood

Welcome to Writer’s Island.

New prompt(s) are posted every Saturday. Consider the prompt in depth, then let inspiration carry you. When you feel what you’ve written is ready to be read by the other Islanders, just post your link right here in the comments section at the bottom of this post. Please leave whatever expanded comment you wish as a part of your posted link. You can also reply directly to any other comment.

β€’β€’> The twentieth prompt for 2010 is: LAST REDWOOD. For something a bit different this week, imagine you are the very last giant redwood standing on earth. Why are you the last? What happened to the rest? What do you see? How do you feel? What message might you have? Are there human survivors? Is the planet now barren? What ever strikes you, express it.

So please consider the concept and the many possible perspectives and ramifications, and tell us in your words (poem, prose, flash fiction, etc.) the who, what, where, when, why or how regarding sole survivorship — include any visual image you might want to incorporate, and let yourself go with whatever it is that moves you to write.

Relax, respond to the prompt when you’re ready — or just leave a comment to say hi! As always, welcome to the the Island!!! πŸ˜‰

87 Comments

Filed under Creative Prompt

87 responses to “Prompt #20 for 2010: Last Redwood

  1. systematicweasel

    http://systematicweasel.wordpress.com/2010/09/11/the-last-redwood-sole-survivorship/

    Two for this one. This whole week seems to be a theme of sole survivorship, from movies to music, and to writing, =). Awesome prompt, as always!

    -Weasel

  2. Mankind left me alone. They removed all of my species, and decided to leave me the way they found me. They built a small deck, with the flesh of my neighbors, and erected a small memorial, with a picture of what is now history. In the picture, I am the tallest, widest of us all. The humans that discovered me, posed beneath the shade I provided them. They are all gone, now. The humans took everything. When the sun sets, I can see them up there, along with the stars and other planets. I try to concentrate on the Red Planet they talked about, while they worked to filter the only remaining water to my roots. Buried deep beneath me is the map that will lead the discoverer to the humans. The days are longer, now, and I am finding it difficult to breath.

  3. This one is going to take a bit of time. Ideas are whirling around in my brain, but so far they have produced nothing but clichΓ© and trite thoughts.
    Watch this space.

  4. Lisa Martinez … I loved ‘with the flesh of my neighbors’ well written peice.

  5. My first attempt is here: http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2010/09/11/the-last/

    I hope to come back with something more positive later.

  6. Thanks for an interesting prompt!
    I decided to do some more automatic writing … this time using the letter `L`.

    http://flaubert-poetrywithme.blogspot.com/2010/09/left-alone-writers-island-20-last.html

  7. Love this prompt…

    http://wp.me/pSOYe-ya

    Be Inspired Today! Love and Light,

    Sender

  8. I found time for a haiku…..our new floor will not be redwood….but from some fir…thinned out from our property
    http://waynepitchko.blogspot.com/2010/09/haiku.html

  9. Mine is not exactly to prompt, but it’s a step on the way… wrote the gist a week ago, cleaned it up a bit and retitled for here:

    http://turtlememoir.wordpress.com/2010/09/04/a-touch-of-mourning/

    As always, thanks!

  10. Irene

    Here’s my take on the end of the world.

    the last redwood

  11. tillybud

    Just a haiku from me; I tried to surround the misery with laughter for poor Viv and others, who don’t like the inevitable trend of this week’s prompt:
    http://thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com/2010/09/13/hee-hee-hee/

    • writersisland

      Thank you Tilly, and I thought about not looking at the trouble facing our planet, but decided touching on it poetically from this unique perspective, was a healthy ‘virtual’ splash of cold water to the face… I am compelled by nature to do that occasionally… 😐

      …rob

  12. May I remind UK poets that October 7 is National Poetry Day, with a theme of HOME. The website is: http://www.nationalpoetryday.co.uk/

  13. This theme will not leave me alone. Here’s yet another miserable poem: http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2010/09/14/loss-for-writers-island/

  14. Great site guys. Will keep an eye out for your next prompt.

  15. sheilaeh

    hi! new here and many thanks to Amy BL for the head’s up:)

    my attempt at this prompt
    so nice to meet you all..please pass the sunscreen?

    my brand new(said I’d never do it )blog..still workin’ out the bugs ,unpacking, so please don’t mind the boxes …sheila h
    http://sheilaeh.wordpress.com/2010/09/14/4/

  16. Here’s my survivor! Click on the name link above.

  17. Waiting by Shane Genziuk

    I stand tall
    and my roots
    spread far beneath
    these melted ashen bodies
    which stain the earth

    My brothers told me
    that a time would come
    when your field would lay fallow
    and our canopy would rise again

    I have no brothers now
    to share this with
    only left to wait
    as the wind blows
    seed from my branches

  18. wow! This was a great prompt. I attempted my first ever villanelle for this prompt. Hope ya enjoy it.
    http://woih.wordpress.com/2010/09/15/the-hand-that-feeds/

  19. Imperfect Prose…not about a redwood but certainly about survivorship on one’s own…..

Leave a Reply

