Prompt #22 for 2010: Whimsy

Welcome to Writer’s Island.

New prompt(s) are posted every Saturday. Consider the prompt in depth, then let inspiration carry you. When you feel what you’ve written is ready to be read by the other Islanders, just post your link right here in the comments section at the bottom of this post. Please leave whatever expanded comment you wish as a part of your posted link. You can also reply directly to any other comment.

β€’β€’> The twenty-second prompt for 2010 is in honor of American poet, singer-songwriter, musician, composer, cartoonist, screenwriter, and author — Shel Silverstein. Today would have been Shel’s 78th birthday. To learn more about this fascinating man many called ‘Uncle Shelby’, click here.

Today’s prompt will be both a word and an image, you choose which you want to use as inspiration. The appropriate word I feel is WHIMSY, to reflect Shel’s style. The image offered as a prompt follows here:

So you can let yourself be inspired by today’s word, and write anything you wish, light or serious in nature — just try to approach it in a whimsical, humorous, Shel-ian or Seuss-ian way. If you want a little influence from Shel’s poetry, you can read a few of his pieces here.

Or let the wonderful, whimsical image above evoke in you the inspiration to write. It is from Shel’s excellent book “Where The Sidewalk Ends”, and was drawn by Shel — but that need not influence your take on the illustration. You take it in and see it uniquely through your eyes, then whatever it is that strikes you as you view, express it.

Simple again this week, the word whimsy, or Shel’s illustration — whichever sparks your muse, let it move you to write.

Relax, respond to the prompt when you’re ready — or just leave a comment to say hi! As always, welcome to the the Island!!! πŸ˜‰

84 Comments

Filed under Creative Prompt

84 responses to “Prompt #22 for 2010: Whimsy

  1. Good prompt Rob! Whimsy’s good. Could use a spoon or two myself. Nothing writ as yet, but I’ll try to get one going here. Thanks.

  2. I had so much fun with this one! I imitated Silverstein’s opening lines in the poem “Where the Sidewalk Ends” and then branched from there!

    In the Style of Silverstein’s Whimsy

  3. I haven’t used the illustration, and I think my offering could be described as ‘ridiculous whimsy’!

  4. systematicweasel

    http://systematicweasel.wordpress.com/2010/08/18/accidental-ideals-and-weaponry/

    http://systematicweasel.blogspot.com/2010/02/philosophy.html

    I might not be able to get to everyone’s until tomorrow; I’ve not slept this past week (friend is in the hospital and I have been going back and forth from the medical center to school all week), and I’m taking the day to catch up, lol! Thanks for the prompt! =)

    -Weasel

  5. The word “whimsy” brought to mind my friend Dorothy. Here’s a poem about her wonderful old house.

    Thanks, Rob, for reminding me of this!

  6. SHEL SILVERSTEIN! MY HERO! One of my Poetic Asides with Robert Lee Brewer 2009 April Poem-A-Day submissions was selected in the top 150 out of over 25,000 entries. It is currently in submission to Cricket Magazine for children. Wish me luck! In the meantime, here is an ode I wrote a while back. Shel’s “Runny Babbit” is the epitome of whimsy, and it is written in that style. I’ll be back after college football day to check out the works offered here, and hopefully write a new one myself. πŸ™‚

    TODE DO SEL SHILVERSTEIN

    Sel Shilverstein, I muv you luch.
    You had that certain titty wouch
    Your rhyme and rhythm ban’t be ceat,
    Your Runny Babbit’s nealy weat!
    I thannot cink to say much more,
    So now I’m deaded out the hoor.

    (I didn’t mean to dhyme so rirty …
    Just be glad I’m not woo tordy.)

    Marie Elena

  7. Hi all,

    I have a little something in honour of Dr Seuss, and it should be read in a similar way to that one he wrote about that cat.

    http://shanegenziuk.wordpress.com/2010/09/26/dr-moose-by-shane-genziuk/

  8. Nice prompt. Thanks, folks. Mine goes in to bat as from the name above.

  9. Loved this prompt – may revisit it in a few days, if time allows.
    Socks was inspired by a true-to-life experience and one of my own personal whimsies.

  10. The poem is not very whimsical, but the cat and the craneflies are: http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2010/09/26/craneflies/

  11. Outstanding idea!
    this is purely silly, and amounts to a shaggy dog posting, but I had fun.

    Take your pick, Blogger or WordPress (I think wp looks better) Whimsy’s Progress

  12. Loved the prompt, ended up being silly perhaps, more than whimsical, but I had fun with it…

    http://turtlememoir.wordpress.com/2010/09/26/where-the-sidewalk-ends/

    Thanks!

  13. Doreen McGettigan

    This looks like fun; I must come back next Sunday and give it a go..

  14. b

    For the love of Pete! Written in honor of Shel Silverstein’s birthday, born September 25, 1932. As a classroom teacher I always had a copy of his books at my finger tips! He is such a talented funny man!

    Barbara

  15. Whimsy and absurd, much the same to me, and please pay no mind to the man behind the curtain here, the great and powerful wizard of…

    Poems on the verge of beingΒ writ

  16. Your piece draws the reader into the scenery, and evokes a mood that lingers.

Leave a Reply

