Prompt #33 for 2010: Wondrous

Welcome to Writer’s Island.

We are pleased to now be in our fourth (4th) year here on the Island, providing writing prompts. New prompt(s) are posted every Saturday at 12:01 AM, U.S. East Coast Time. Consider the prompt in depth, then let inspiration carry you.

When you feel what you’ve written is ready to be read by the other Islanders, just post your link right here in the comments section at the bottom of this post. Please leave whatever expanded comment you wish as a part of your posted link. You can also reply directly to any other comment.

••> The thirty third prompt for 2010 is “WONDROUS”.

So let the word wondrous spark your muse… or choose to go in your own direction with your piece this week. Just let yourself go with whatever it is that moves you to write.

Relax, respond to the prompt when you’re ready — or just leave a comment to say hi! As always, welcome to the the Island!!! 😉

32 Comments

Filed under Creative Prompt

32 responses to “Prompt #33 for 2010: Wondrous

    • Blogspot won’t take my comments without Captcha, so:

      I loved your choice of images and can see you contemplating the picture and waiting for the words to come. Not sure if this is your method, but this one blew my socks off!

      Tonight, in dreams, I will continue the tale. Thx to Writer’s Island for floating me your way.

      Amy Barlow Liberatore

  1. Rinkly Rimes

    http://rinklyrimes.blogspot.com/2008/07/56-lanes-of-lincolnshire.html

    Strange how wondrous means so much more than wonderful!

    • This poem brings forth memories of places I’ve never seen. I could almost smell the inside of my grandma’s purse reading it, it was so lovely and filled with longing.

      Reminds me of an old song, “Have You Ever Crossed Over To Sneeden’s?” A Mabel Mercer favorite, and that same sort of gentleness.

      Thanks! Amy BL

  2. Wondrous is one of those words that poetry tutors abhor for some reason, though it is a beautiful word. I will cogitate and come back later.

  3. b_y

    It’s a good word, nice and I’ll-defined.
    I am back to playing with the Red Riding Hood story. My version of
    WONDROUS is a tall tale of sorts.

  4. Yeah, this one was straight from the heart.

    FYI, we are moving to Madison, WI from Western NY. All the snow, even colder temps. In the words of Rhoda, “I’ll keep better.”

    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2010/12/11/balm-writers-island/

  5. This will probably make little sense, it was written over my morning coffee and my eyes were barely open. Thanks for the prompt.

    http://flaubert-poetrywithme.blogspot.com/2010/12/wondrous-wanderer-writers-island-33.html

  6. A sentimental senryu; don’t know what’s wrong with me:

    Writer’s Island: Wondrous Senryu

  7. I am on hols at the moment, thus the title ‘Beach Holiday’.

  8. kaykuala

    This is a posting incorporating a verse from Norzah which coincidentally had
    the word ‘wondrous’ that I wish to share with all.

    http://imagery77.blogspot.com/2010/12/moon.html

Leave a comment