Prompt #34 for 2010: Triumph

Welcome to Writer’s Island.

We are pleased to now be in our fourth (4th) year here on the Island, providing writing prompts. New prompt(s) are posted every Saturday at 12:01 AM, U.S. East Coast Time. Consider the prompt in depth, then let inspiration carry you.

When you feel what you’ve written is ready to be read by the other Islanders, just post your link right here in the comments section at the bottom of this post. Please leave whatever expanded comment you wish as a part of your posted link. You can also reply directly to any other comment.

••> The thirty fourth prompt for 2010 is “TRIUMPH”.

So let the word triumph spark your muse… or choose to go in your own direction with your piece this week. Just let yourself go with whatever it is that moves you to write.

Relax, respond to the prompt when you’re ready — or just leave a comment to say hi! As always, welcome to the the Island!!! 😉

22 Comments

Filed under Creative Prompt

22 responses to “Prompt #34 for 2010: Triumph

  1. Good prompt. Hope I did it justice.

  2. Sorry. I’m new to this so I didn’t know if I should type the URL with the comment. Just in case, I’ll list it here.
    http://savagereflections.blogspot.com
    There. One of these should work. 🙂

    • Berowne, I’m new to your work. This was startling, haunting, powerful. Unfortunately, I couldn’t leave a comment on Blogger without the Captcha widget turned on (I’m WordPress), so I’ll say it here… my ex-mom-in-law survived Auschwitz and escaped to the forest during a march to Bergen Belzen. Your take on this prompt was a potent reminder of politics in its worst form, and a reminder to us all that Glenn Beck’s first inspirational reading was “Mein Kampf.”

      Amy Barlow Liberatore

  3. Haven’t been for a while but some festive memories sprang to mind … lovely prompt :o)

    http://thecaterpillaruprising.blogspot.com/2010/12/triumph-writers-island-34.html

  4. Great Prompt and the result was totally unexpected,

    About The Dead Woman and Remembering

    Elizabeth

  5. It’s nice to be back on the island. Here’s my piece:
    http://bozone-bw.blogspot.com/2010/12/tis-season.html
    Peace to all,
    ~Brenda

  6. Logging in this week, yay! I did enough packing last night to afford some time to my muse… hope you’re ready to rock! Peace, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2010/12/18/jazz-afire-w-isle-triumph/

    PS I’ll be back “in full force” come February after our move to Madison, WI. Any other Wisconsonites here? Come visit and give me contact info; I plan to join the poetry society there…!

  7. b_y

    Did you know there’s going to be a full lunar eclipse for the solstice?

    Triumph

  8. Brace yourselves! I really don’t get haikus, so I decided to just try one myself. Not quite sure yet what to make of the experience but glad to have just given it a go 😉
    http://flyingmonkey23.blogspot.com/2010/12/triumphant-inspired-by-writers-island.html

Leave a comment